What Have I Done

(I’ve succumbed to … not-exactly-peer pressure, is what.)

So I think I mentioned, the other day, that JB has been all kinds of encouraging about getting out there and doing all the classes.

He’s been especially encouraging about the masterclass series—like, every time we see each-other, he’s like, You should do the masterclass series!!! You should! It would be so good for you! DOOOO EEEEEET![1]

  1. This last bit might involve a wee measure of poetic license.

Anyway.

So, being as MOAR CLASS!!! is what I want to do anyway, and the cost is ridiculously reasonable, I have (predictably) thrown in the towel and registered for this week’s session (I’m playing it by ear beyond that, pending intel about auditiony things).

Only, in so doing, I discovered that there are currently only two of us registered for LAB’s session this week.

Two.

TWO.

TWO.

what-have-i-done

So, basically, unless the SI peeps can take the class without registering or something like that, or a whole bunch of people opt in at the last minute, it’s essentially a semi-private class. Which means no lazy resting while the other 27 groups go across the floor (in case you’re wondering, this is one of the things that make BW’s class simultaneously awesome and super hard: NO REST EVER, though he’s proactive about making me stop if I seem to be blowing up my foot).

Also, I am currently way sleep-deprived: couldn’t turn my brain off last night to save my life, then the hubster woke me up to ask if I was going to class and I never made it back to sleep, so I’m running on about 3 hours.

So, like, in case the math isn’t clear, here’s the equation:

2 hour masterclass(semi-private)*3 hours of sleep=AAAAUUGHHHHH

Basically? I’m gonna die.

OTOH I’ll probably sleep well tonight, so there’s that?

In other news I should get my butt back in modern class tomorrow. I managed to miss both days last week.

sissones-01

Oh, and here’s a totally gratuitous sissone photo (with T1 in the foreground being too fast to capture) just because. Note that for once my face is NOT turned towards the stupid mirror. Insofar as it’s possible to see my face, anyway. Also, I do not actually have a Marine-issue flattop right now.

PS: I love the optical illusion that you get when you shoot (as in photograph or video, jeez) dancers from even slightly below. I will grant you that my jumps are generally high and my sissones tend to look extra high because hip mobility ftw, but my right leg in that particular sissone is not actually five feet off the ground. Nevertheless, the barres imply that it is ^-^

About asher

Me in a nutshell: Standard uptight ballet boy. Trapeze junkie. Half-baked choreographer. Budding researcher. Transit cyclist. Terrible homemaker. Getting along pretty well with bipolar disorder. Fabulous. Married to a very patient man. Bachelor of Science in Psychology (2015). Proto-foodie, but lazy about it. Cat owner ... or, should I say, cat own-ee? ... dog lover. Equestrian.

Posted on 2017/06/26, in balllet. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

