Back To The Log

I think one source of my difficulties, this past week, was not eating enough, so I think I’m going to get back to logging everything for a couple of weeks.     

We dined out with friends last night at a local Mexican place. I inhaled two sizeable burritos (together, they were about the equivalent one of Qdoba’s edible depth charges), which is way more than I can usually in one meal. Evidently, red warrior needed food badly[1].

  1. You guys, I played Gauntlet exactly once[2], aeons ago, as a kid. Why is this still so funny? (Blue elf shot the food!)
  2. I was terrible it, not least because I couldn’t stop laughing. 

Anyway, between actually eating yesterday and foam-rolling my entire body and re-upping my Flonase, I felt better today, and class went fairly well. Some of it even went really well. 

Oh, and I managed another quarduple. 

Not smooth enough yet to call it a proper quadruple turn, but better than the last one. There was no hoppity-hop of shame this time, just, “One … Two … Threeeee … Oh, heck, I have time, Ffffffffoooouu…ur. Phew!” Actually landing properly fourth on the correct diagonal and everything. What the how, you guys.

Evidently, it really does help if you just stay UP.  It’s the learning where UP actually is that’s the hard part. 

Of course, after that I got excited and kept giving my turns too much force, so I’d have to forcibly stop them, then rotate so I was facing the correct corner. 

Oops.   
Going left, I made myself do a balance, then a single, just so I’d calm the heck down. 

Also, today’s warm-up jumps ended with me going on merrily by myself, then asking, “Oh, there aren’t four more changements?” JMH just looked at me like, “U crazy.”

Derp.
Honestly, though, was just nice to feel capable(ish), which made it easier to relax and enjoy class. 

On the other hand, my left leg doesn’t want to support eff all today, so there’s that. Adagio was glorious going right and a train wreck going left. Oh, well. 

On the otber other hand, my efforts at using my eyes are working. 

Anyway, this coming week I’ll make sure to Eat All The Things. My legs still feel kinda weak, but they’ll get there.

~

PS: Bonus “sweat angel” pix. You’re welcome 😛

It was Dr. Dance, in the studio, with the grand allegro!

Product enlarged to show detail 😛

About asher

Me in a nutshell: Standard uptight ballet boy. Trapeze junkie. Half-baked choreographer. Budding researcher. Transit cyclist. Terrible homemaker. Getting along pretty well with bipolar disorder. Fabulous. Married to a very patient man. Bachelor of Science in Psychology (2015). Proto-foodie, but lazy about it. Cat owner ... or, should I say, cat own-ee? ... dog lover. Equestrian.

Posted on 2017/05/28, in balllet, class notes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

