Professionalism: Evidently, I Haz It? 

Our performance last night rocked the house. We legitimately got an ovation of stunning enthusiasm, which melted my heart and went on after the curtain came down and made us hug each-other as we scurried off the stage. 

That was great. 

We were all together, the choreography worked, I hit the turns and the jumps, and the partnering bits were on point. 

But the thing that made me proud of myself, be honest, is that I danced 3/4s of our piece in just one shoe  and almost nobody noticed.  One my friends who’s in theater noticed that I only had one shoe and thought it was intentional 😀  

The shoe started peeling off almost immediately, and within the first minute was barely hanging on by the toe. It would definitely have come off in the next bit and potentially tripped someone, so I neatly flicked it into the wings on the upstage-right leg of a running figure eight and just went on without it. 
Since it was the right shoe, this made The Apollo jump—which in this dance lifts off from and initially lands on the right foot—a bit alarming, because shiny tights are hella slippery. I did it anyway, a more cautiously than I wanted, but evidently it still looked good. 

Anyway, all the girls were amazing, and I can’t wait to dance with them again. 

I also can’t wait see the video. I’ve seen a 20-second pirate clip that looked pretty great!  

That’s it for now. I had class and a 2 hour rehearsal today, so I’m ready for some R&R. 

Tomorrow is a day off, and maybe even Tuesday 😉 We’ll see how it goes. 

Coda: Apparently the faculty was very much impressed by how well we mastered quite a complicated dance in very little time. 

I’m just exploding with joy it, still.    

  

About asher

Me in a nutshell: Standard uptight ballet boy. Trapeze junkie. Half-baked choreographer. Budding researcher. Transit cyclist. Terrible homemaker. Getting along pretty well with bipolar disorder. Fabulous. Married to a very patient man. Bachelor of Science in Psychology (2015). Proto-foodie, but lazy about it. Cat owner ... or, should I say, cat own-ee? ... dog lover. Equestrian.

Posted on 2017/03/19, in balllet, performances and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Congratulations. I trust you’re already having fun explaining the decisions behind the choice of one shoe in the most bizarre possible ways.

    • Ha ! I should. “The missing shoe represents the insufficiency of one man in the face of the overwhelming tide of life’s responsibilities,” or “The entire ballet is an allegory for the life of Shoeless Joe Jackson,” or, “I had to handicap myself by dancing in just one shoe, so my awesome jumping power wouldn’t send me flying right off the stage :P” or…

      • “Correctly considered, the absence of the shoe *is* the performance; everything else is merely stage-business that supports it.”

      • “The dancers explore this concept through passages in which one *danseur* supports as many as four ballerinas, all the while supported by a missing shoe, leading the audience to wonder which comes first, the dancer or the shoe?

        The answer is, of course, the shoe. Everyone knows that.”

        Addendum
        Obvious corrolary:
        It’s gotta be the (lack of) shoe.

  2. Congratulations! I wish I could’ve been in the audience, too. Did you find the shoe afterwards?

    • Thanks! ^—^

      I did—my aim was pretty good 😀 I’m glad I didn’t land it in some dark and inaccessible, spider-infested cranny, as I had to return the shoes in question to BG after the performance!

Leave a Reply

