The Badger Cabinet Problem, Episode 01: Possible Solutions?

D installed new cabinets in our kitchen some while before I arrived in his life.

He bought them as a lot, rather than having them custom-built, because he’s the frugal kind of person who does that kind of thing and makes it work (I love that about him).

Anyway, I think our cabinets were originally intended for a more typically-sized and -laid out kitchen. This led to one significant problem: a deep, inaccessible well in a corner where two cabinets should connect, but don’t.

theresyourproblem

Well, there’s your problem. (Also, full disclosure: the weird, sugary pink lemonade mix belongs to D, but I am the one who drinks the nasty instant coffee.)

I’ve dealt with the problem, thus far, by shoving things I rarely use into that deep, dark well.

This is all (ahem) well and good until I actually do need to use them. Then, it’s a giant pain in the neck to pull everything out of the near end of the cabinet so I can fish around in the far end, hoping against hope that nothing with big, sharp teeth is hiding in there(1).

  1. Okay, it’s fairly unlikely that there are, say, badgers living in my cabinets, but there’s still something I instinctively dislike about shoving my arms into dark hidey-holes.
yarrherebebadgers

Yarrr. Here be badgers.

On the other hand, if anyone needs a secure place to stash the One Ring for a few decades, my Badger Cabinet is probably a good choice.

Anyway, I’ve been wracking my brain trying to come up with a better way to manage the Badger Cabinet, and I think I’ve finally figured something out thanks to a really expensive sliding spice rack.

Denis would almost certainly murder me if I spent nearly $80 on a sliding spice rack right now, or even $45 on the single-tier version that holds “large containers,” but he almost certainly(2) won’t murder me if I buy some appropriately-sized plastic or metal bins and some of those stick-on felt slidey feet, as long as I don’t spend too much money.

  1. I say almost certainly because D doesn’t understand my desire to organize things into easily-removable units. He has no problem with removing 15,000,000 individual small items in order to access one large item, probably because HE NEVER PUTS ANYTHING AWAY, EVER(3). /me stomps off in a huff
  2. Seriously, this is true. You should see his work bench o_O But he makes up for it by his many other excellent qualities, like knowing how to do plumbing and already owning a Fancy Stand Mixer so I didn’t have to buy one ^.-

One set of bins could go up front, so rather than removing a bazillion individual bottles of miscellaneous oils, tins of baking powder, bags of baking soda (I have discovered that you can buy baking soda, which I use both for cooking and cleaning, in 2-pound bags), I’ll just have to remove a few bins.

The slidey feet will make it easier to get the the bins in the back out.

Et violà—no more sticking my poor, naked arms into potentially badger-infested dark holes.

I will have to measure our fancy stand mixer to confirm this, but it might even be possible to move the Fancy Stand Mixer  (which currently lives atop the fridge, where I can’t reach it for fear of dropping it on my own head; that thing is heavy) to the cabinet, where I could potentially wrestle it free without risking cranial injury. Then I could actually use said Fancy Stand Mixer.

That or else I could move the Fancy Stand Mixer to the spot on the countertop where the SodaStream and several cookbooks currently live, then move those guys into the cabinet above or onto the top of the fridge.

I could even move all the random junk that lives in the large cabinet under the flatware drawer up into the Badger Cabinet and then use it to store things like the bread machine (also currently inaccessible due to its precarious perch atop the fridge) and possibly some of my loaf pans, cupcake molds, and so forth.

There’s also a Badger Cabinet on my stove. Right now, it holds all the muffin tins, loaf pans, and so forth, but they’re not very well organized. (Okay, really, they’re barely organized at all.) I have some plans to improve that situation; the challenge is finding the right parts. I’m thinking a combination of slim tension rods and some kind of heat-resistant shelf could work.

So there we have it. A possible solution for the Problem of the Badger Cabinet. I’ll check back in once I try implementing one of my possible solutions.

About asher

Me in a nutshell: Standard uptight ballet boy. Trapeze junkie. Half-baked choreographer. Budding researcher. Transit cyclist. Terrible homemaker. Getting along pretty well with bipolar disorder. Fabulous. Married to a very patient man. Bachelor of Science in Psychology (2015). Proto-foodie, but lazy about it. Cat owner ... or, should I say, cat own-ee? ... dog lover. Equestrian.

Posted on 2016/12/27, in adulting, homemakering, it is a silly place and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. omg I thought I was the only person that struggled with badger cabinets. I just never had a name for them. My old apartment had one and it didn’t matter what I stuck back in there, it would STICK to the shelf back in there from the damp in that place. I’m so glad the boys and I moved out of that place but I wished I had come up with a solution for that cabinet. I never knew about those racks. Maybe I can convince my dad to buy some for his unsightly spice cabinet…. @_@ Surely he needs them more than another computer? 😉

    • Funny! I also thought I was the only one! Perhaps there’s an entire world of people out there with badger cabinets, every one thinking she or he is alone with the potential badgers.

      I’ll let you know how my idea works out. I just took some measurements, and since I need to go retrieve some groceries anyway, I think might wander around and see whether some bins that fit the requirements can be found in the shops near the supermarket.

      The racks look amazing, don’t they? I might eventually have to buy one or two to organize the cabinet to the right of the vent hood, where I keep things like cocoa powder and a giant box of kosher salt.

      I am convinced everyone could use these more than another computer (unless, of course, the existing computer is so senile and doddering as to transform even sending email into a chore, in which case it still seems like a toss-up).

      • Oh no, trust me… my dad has this thing about computers… *sigh* I swear he has Bipolar too because… geeze the man owns four computers and is currently trying to convince my mother that they need two laptops on top of that as we speak. And that’s not counting the ones we brought with us when we moved in here. There is nothing wrong with these computers. Well except my oldest son’s. It died. But even so… he’s not without one. @_@ I don’t understand… lol

        But yeah, reaching into a badger cabinet when you are short/little SUCKS. No way else to put it. And why is it that it’s the short/little people stuck organizing everything? I’d like to know that one too. The world may never know.

        Whatever it is you come up with, I’d love to know. I’m sure I can find all sorts of places to use it over here. Old farm houses always have cubby spaces begging to be organized. 😉

      • I think there are people in the world who are the equivalent of Crazy Cat Ladies, but who have computers instead of cats (and often aren’t ladies). Your Dad might be one of them! I have known a couple of those as well 😀

        I think we wee (or relatively-wee) folk and T-rexes wind up getting stuck with the organization tasks because the problem isn’t as pressing for taller, longer-armed folk.

        D is only about 1.5″ taller than I am, but he has significantly longer arms, and those features combine to make it much easier for him to reach into the depths of the Badger Cabinet or lift things down from the top of the fridge without fearing for the health of his brain.

        You’re so right about old farm houses. I will definitely keep you posted!

      • My family calls them the “pack rats” because before computers it was other stuff he would collect. Now I have a son that collects things too.

        Well it makes sense. If you don’t have to worry about life and limb, then I suppose it wouldn’t matter if stuff falls out or caves in. But dang… I have a hard time believing people don’t worry about that. lol

Leave a Reply

