My Shortest Post Ever, Probably 

I’m a member of the “believe in yourself” generation, but I don’t. 

I mostly talk a good game, though.  

About asher

Me in a nutshell: Standard uptight ballet boy. Trapeze junkie. Half-baked choreographer. Budding researcher. Transit cyclist. Terrible homemaker. Getting along pretty well with bipolar disorder. Fabulous. Married to a very patient man. Bachelor of Science in Psychology (2015). Proto-foodie, but lazy about it. Cat owner ... or, should I say, cat own-ee? ... dog lover. Equestrian.

Posted on 2016/12/15, in balllet and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I have come to the conclusion that “believing in yourself” sometimes requires one lying to himself on his weaker days that he does indeed still believe.

    I also think that part of believing is pretending, though at least for the proper reasons or cause.

    • You’re absolutely right.

      So much of my life right now feels like “fake it til you make it,” and every now and then I start listening to the voice in my head that says, “Give up, you’ll never make it.” (Sometimes it also says, “Everyone knows you’re a giant fake and is just humoring you.” By the light of day, that looks a lot like good ol’ Imposter Syndrome.)

      I forget that everything I *have* managed to do in my life has been done through a combination of stubborn persistence and self-delusion, and start to fall into despair. That’s where I was, last night, and I’m really grateful for your words here.

  1. Pingback: talking a good game – another cracked southern belle

Leave a Reply

