A Break, Maybe?  

I’ve started and scuttled four or five posts this week, and just now figured out that maybe (GASP!) I should take a brief break from the ol’ blorg. I’m not really doing social media right now, either. 

Now is a good time—this week has been jammed with rehearsals and, for me, last-minute learning of choreography for a piece that lost a dancer to illness (I mean, she didn’t die, she’s just out sick; fortunately, this dance is neither long nor difficult, so picking it up in two days has been okay). Next week is the last week of Dance Team for the semester, so we’re doing an improv workshop and team banquet on Friday. I also need to check in with my own wee group of dancers and schedule rehearsals for “Work Song.”

Class updates: Thursday class is on hiatus until after Nutcracker (because BW is Dancing All The Things), Wednesday Class has a sub (who I like very much) until the end of the month because Killer B is also Nutcrackering (IIRC, on Key West!). Saturday class continues with excellent substitutes. I’m going back (finally) tomorrow, though I may just do barre. I chose to call it a day after barre on Wednesday this week, and I think that was the right decision, and while I’m feeling more like normal now, JP’s teaching, and I may or may not have it in me to do his full class. Sunday, I’m back to teaching.

I’ve put Monday class and all Tuesday classes on hold until I get my waterfowls in a linear array, because it’s the only one I feel the least bit flexible about. I’ve been having a rough time getting caught up on stuff that got behind behind at home  while I was sick (in other words, literally everything). That needs to get sorted quickly, and now (before we jump into the fray of “Work Song” rehearsals, Spring Dance Team, and Even Moar ballet) seems like a good time. 

So I am pretty sure I’ll be taking a one-week break, and I might make it two.

But I am, as always,  Not Dead Yet. 

And for all all those celebrating all the various holidays:

So paper. Many joy. Wow

About asher

Me in a nutshell: Standard uptight ballet boy. Trapeze junkie. Half-baked choreographer. Budding researcher. Transit cyclist. Terrible homemaker. Getting along pretty well with bipolar disorder. Fabulous. Married to a very patient man. Bachelor of Science in Psychology (2015). Proto-foodie, but lazy about it. Cat owner ... or, should I say, cat own-ee? ... dog lover. Equestrian.

Posted on 2016/12/09, in adulting, balllet, dance, dance team, life, modern, performances, teaching, work and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Nice Chrismas to you :).

    A few days to learn a choreo reminds me of the “favourite” fever nightmare of my ballet teacher:

    She comes late to the show, the music has always begun. Then the ballet Director steps up to her, and says: You can’t dance your assigned role – you are Princessing Odette today and shoves here on the state without her knowing one step of the role.

    Our ballett school show will be end of April – and so far I have “earned” performing in 4 pieces, including one selfmade solo … that with my chronical sieve mind for remembering steps.

    • Ack! Let us hope that the seive will become clogged so you’ll remember all that choreography!

      Your instructor’s dream sounds terrifying. Curiously, I never had the equivalent school-related dream (Oh no! An exam! And since when an I taking organic chem?!) until after I completed my Bachelor’s degree, but I have totally had nightmares about not knowing the choreography.

      The opposite happened to me with Albrecht’s variation. I thought I didn’t know the choreo; discovered in a dream that I did—thank G-d the dream was accurate!

      Tried to mark my way through it today, though, and realized it’s time for some review 😛

    • Oh, and Happy Christmas to you as well! ^—^

Leave a Reply

