Ballet Intensive, Days Five and Six: Sleep Dep and Crazy (Arms) Mode

Friday was interesting: I had no zip in conditioning and technique because I was running on three hours of sleep (did I write about this already?); variations went well because in those three hours I seriously only dreamed about Albrecht’s variation.

Today’s performance was okay — I think I should have gone a bit easier last night; as such, my jumps weren’t awesome.

Also, I kept sort of forgetting what to do with my arms and just kind of waving them around in more or less the directions they were supposed to go, more or less. Jeez.

I know this because there’s video. I’m annoyed with myself for forgetting to just carry my arms through the opening two steps of Albrecht’s variation. Also for doing the world’s worst tour jeté and tiniest tours, but I understand why those happened.

That said, there are some nice moments in both pieces (one is the double turn that goes to attitude on the second rotation), and I’ll try to take KvN’s advice from Cincinnati and focus on those things!


Edit: I’m thinking now about ballet goals for the rest of this year, so I’m going to write them down.

  • STOP DOING THE CRAZY ARMS AS A DEFAULT.This is a big one. This happens in part because I don’t always mark the arms with any clarity when I’m just walking through things, and the arms decouple from the choreography, and if I’m tired, I lose them. This morning, I lost a really nice moment in Albrecht’s variation specifically because of this.

    The first rule of performance is: AS YOU REHEARSE, SO SHALL YOU PERFORM.

    So I need to stop rehearsing my arms incorrectly, duh.

    ~

  • Nail down the double cabrioles, because seriously, it would be good to have those in my balletic toolkit, and I think I should be able to get them down.~
  • Polish the frack out of Albrecht’s variation and get a good video posted. I should also do the other one. It would be less awesome with only one person, but maybe I could teach it to someone else?~
  • Get ballet video more often. For me, video makes a really good tool for analyzing and correcting my movement patterns.This week I discovered that I can learn and memorize demanding choreography pretty quickly; video can help me figure out how to make it cleaner and better.

    ~

  • Tune up the basics well enough that I continue to execute them correctly even when tired (I’m looking at you, tour jete and legs that opted not to stay particularly turned out during simple arabesque balances).~
  • Triple turns on tap.

So there you have my ballet goals.

Oh, and also: my turnout muscles are tired for realz. I suspect they’ll be very happy to know that they’re getting a day off on Monday.

One last edit: I think I actually forgot to do the turn from fourth to second at the end of my solo and subbed in a regular turn from fourth, but it worked out anyway.

About asher

Me in a nutshell: Standard uptight ballet boy. Trapeze junkie. Half-baked choreographer. Budding researcher. Transit cyclist. Terrible homemaker. Getting along pretty well with bipolar disorder. Fabulous. Married to a very patient man. Bachelor of Science in Psychology (2015). Proto-foodie, but lazy about it. Cat owner ... or, should I say, cat own-ee? ... dog lover. Equestrian.

Posted on 2016/07/23, in balllet, goals, performances, summer intensives, variations and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. So you didn’t get the willis? Or at least they didn’t get you?

    Anyway, enjoy the biiig early morning stretch.

  2. Speaking of biiiiig morning stretches … Wow. This morning, I woke up, and my adductors and rotators were basically like, “Ummmmmmmm … Hell to the No.”

    Aerial A has a soleus injury, so you can imagine what we looked like trying to teach beginning ballet together >.<

Leave a Reply

