Aerials: That Moment When You See The Lightbulb Come On

The seeds of what will make you a unique master of your particular passion are already present. Trust yourself. Don’t give up.

— Emily Hursh

Today I went to noon Mixed Apparatus Class, which is quickly becoming one of my favorites (though we didn’t get to do trapeze .. bleh).

There were seven or eight of us today, up from the usual 3, which was kind of nice (though we missed having our little semi-private tiny group class :D). One of them is a really awesome lady who started training recently at the insistence of her son (who is in a bunch of my classes).

While we were working on silks, she said something like, “…You guys who have been doing this forever always look so great.”

I said, “Thanks!” and stepped up to take my next turn on the silks. Only later did I realize that she actually thought we’d seriously been training for, I don’t know, more than a year anyway.

At the next opportunity, I mentioned that we’d just started in January, and she’d probably be where we are in a couple of months.

You know how in cartoons, there’s that lightbulb-over-the-head thing that happens? I swear that was what happened today.

And that was really cool, because it is great to watch someone realize that the next goal is closer than they thought.

(For what it’s worth, I’m having a lot — a lot — of these lightbulb moments in ballet right now. Things Are Coming Together.)

Anyway, that was awesome. It’s nice to be the bearer of good news for once!

In that vein, then, let me direct you to this amazing post on Living Omily about The Gap (not the place where you can buy overpriced trousers):

Whether or not you cirque, if you’re doing creative work (Ballet Peeps, Assemblé!), you should read Emily’s post*. I am almost willing to guarantee that it will speak to you.

*You can also read Emily Post if, like me, you are fascinated by the ever-evolving rules of etiquette, though it might not be especially relevant to this particular topic.
I don’t know if I’ve said this here, but dance and aerials are making me a better person, and Emily’s post also does a really great job explaining why.

So, yeah. There’s that. The funny thing is, I saw Emily’s post (linked by one of my instructors, the Fabulous Ms. A, on the facebarge) after I started writing this. So, yeah, serendipity in action.

And now I have to go do some work and then maybe try to take a nap, though I am actually terrible at napping because it takes me so long to fall asleep that usually I have to get up before I nod off.

Tomorrow it’s Ms. B’s Killer Class, Trap 2 (YASSSS!), and conditioning … woof. Better get some sleep tonight!

À bîentot, mes amis!

About asher

Me in a nutshell: Standard uptight ballet boy. Trapeze junkie. Half-baked choreographer. Budding researcher. Transit cyclist. Terrible homemaker. Getting along pretty well with bipolar disorder. Fabulous. Married to a very patient man. Bachelor of Science in Psychology (2015). Proto-foodie, but lazy about it. Cat owner ... or, should I say, cat own-ee? ... dog lover. Equestrian.

Posted on 2016/04/12, in aerials, balllet, life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Meadow Woods

    The most wonderful thing about aerials is that the only competition is within yourself. Everyone has unique strengths and weaknesses, its so much fun to watch the “light bulb” moment that you describe 🙂 Happy flying!!

    • This is so true of my studio, and I’m glad to hear that it’s not unique to us!

      The other thing I love is when something that seems like “doing it wrong” turns out to be a beautiful variation. Yesterday, the other guy in my trapeze class did a mermaid spin in a beautiful, perfect pike the whole way through instead of in a tuck. He was initially upset with himself, but we all thought it was gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

