Ballet, Meet Cirque

Acro-Balancing tonight. It was fun, although quite challenging at times.

I discovered that being all legs makes mounting more challenging, but balancing easier when you’re the flyer. It makes being the base kinda weird sometimes — thigh stands are okay, but short arms and long legs makes a steep mount in foot bird or candlestick.

Ballet also makes a lot of it easier — if you have a good arabesque, you know how to use the muscles in your back for the foot bird.

image

This was just before Denis got wobbly on me. He thinks it's gorgeous; I, of course, notice that my feet could be more pointed, my legs aren't even, my neck is tense, my...

I also discovered that I can still do a tripod headstand forever and ever and do cool stuff with my legs during. I’ll have to see if I can get my handstands back. They are awesome for for stability and balance, and I think that would be handy (no pun intended, I swear) for partnering.

About asher

Me in a nutshell: Standard uptight ballet boy. Trapeze junkie. Half-baked choreographer. Budding researcher. Transit cyclist. Terrible homemaker. Getting along pretty well with bipolar disorder. Fabulous. Married to a very patient man. Bachelor of Science in Psychology (2015). Proto-foodie, but lazy about it. Cat owner ... or, should I say, cat own-ee? ... dog lover. Equestrian.

Posted on 2016/01/07, in aerials, balllet, body diversity, fitness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hey, Denis is right – this is gorgeous!

    And I wouldn’t dare to wear these great peacock tights, either than making the flyer (with more than 80 Kg…).

Leave a Reply

