On Ballet! — Or, Well, Off Ballet!

…But, don’t worry, not for long.

I woke up this morning feeling kind of generally grumpy, congested, and terrible and by about 2 PM was debating whether going to ballet class was a good idea. Turned out I was running a fever, which is generally a good reason to assume you’re contagious, so I decided to take one for the team and not go rather than infecting everyone in class with whatever kind of schmutz I’ve contracted.

This appears to be some variant of the dreaded Itchy Throat Disease. I do not know yet whether it’s an Itchy Throat Virus or an Itchy Throat Bacterium. I’m hoping for the virus, because those usually go away on their own.

I’m also hoping someone invents a back scratcher for throats, like, soon, because I really need one.

In other news, we have our shiny stuff for PlayThink Movement and Flow Arts Festival pretty much together.

My costuming decisions (note: costumes are not by any means required for this festival; we just like costumes) have been driven by finding a pair of foil leopard-print tights at a ridiculously good price … so somehow, between needing to be a leopard because my tights say so and needing to have wings because we are all going to have wings (my sis-in-law is making Isis-ish wings for all of us!), I have become a winged leopard creature.

A bit out there, perhaps, but hey! It’s an excuse to wear a costume!

In public!

Or, well, semi-public, since it’s not like the festival is in the middle of Louisville or something.

So, anyway, being excited about that gives me something to do while I’m moping about being too sick for ballet class today.

I hope to be back in class on Saturday, and to do a double class, since we didn’t have class Monday, either (OMG, NO BALLET FOR LIKE A WEEK, you guys, I AM GOING TO DIE).

And that being said, I am now going to toddle off to bed, take some Knock-You-On-Your-Keister Night-Time Cold Medicine and, with a little luck, beat this thing in my sleep.

Because sometimes it’s best to take illness lying down.

About asher

Me in a nutshell: Standard uptight ballet boy. Trapeze junkie. Half-baked choreographer. Budding researcher. Transit cyclist. Terrible homemaker. Getting along pretty well with bipolar disorder. Fabulous. Married to a very patient man. Bachelor of Science in Psychology (2015). Proto-foodie, but lazy about it. Cat owner ... or, should I say, cat own-ee? ... dog lover. Equestrian.

Posted on 2014/05/28, in balllet, health and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

