On Ballet! – Monday Class Notes

You may recall that, on Saturday, I received a really great correction about my tendency to sort of lean back when I think I’m pulled up straight.

As such, I went into today’s class feeling rather more confident about things: suddenly, I understood why some of the things that had proven difficult for me had done so, and had a notion as to how to fix them.

I say “had a notion,” because thought does not always translate directly to action. There were still times that I was a bit Pisa-esque, a little lean-y. However, when I was able to keep everything pulled together, my balance was much better, my turns were better, and I generally felt better.

Of course, that didn’t prevent me from developing an entirely new problem. No, as usual, in an effort to overcome a different (but related) existing problem — that of throwing my arms too far back, which also screws up your balance — I over-corrected, as always.

How not to position your arms a la seconde.

So, ummm, yeah. About that second position…

Fortunately, The Divine Ms. Margie caught it and corrected it before it could get, well, out of hand.

I also had some instances of the weird leg malfunction wherein, for whatever reason, my left leg goes instead of my right, or whatever, and then I do all kinds of crazy catch-up maneuvers. At least this only happened during petit allegro this time, and not at the bar (though I did, somehow, totally hose up one of the sequences at the bar anyway, for no good reason).

Something I’m trying to keep in mind: in ballet class, as in life, you shouldn’t focus on your msitakes. You should make note of them and correct them, of course, but if you find yourself thinking, “Oh, no, this is where I got the combo wrong before,” you’re almost certain to get it wrong again and in the same way.

Of course, when I figure out how to note my mistakes and correct them without focusing on them in that way, I’ll be sure to let you know.

About asher

Me in a nutshell: Standard uptight ballet boy. Trapeze junkie. Half-baked choreographer. Budding researcher. Transit cyclist. Terrible homemaker. Getting along pretty well with bipolar disorder. Fabulous. Married to a very patient man. Bachelor of Science in Psychology (2015). Proto-foodie, but lazy about it. Cat owner ... or, should I say, cat own-ee? ... dog lover. Equestrian.

Posted on 2014/04/28, in balllet, class notes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Over thinking = repeated mistakes. I learned that the hard way after my beginner adult cycling class. Especially stopping the bike. The more I reminded myself what to do, the more I totally effed up.

    • Exactly! Denis and I were talking about that lady night in the way home. It’s funny how the brain is such an awesome and wonderful tool but still so good at getting in the way 😀

Leave a Reply

