On Ballet! – As the Pique Turns

I shall try to keep this brief.

We had a good class tonight even though Denis and I were held hostage by Steak-n-Shake and ran in as the barre segment was beginning. There were only four of us, so we all received close scrutiny. Many questions were asked and many corrections received, especially by me. I was particularly in need of corrections tonight, but they were all good and useful ones.

My core still wasn’t great. I think I’m going to have to put some dedicated time into that. The past couple of weeks I have been running around like a chicken with its head cut off collecting data and so forth, and consequently not putting much time in at home for strength training (which, in my case, generally involves calisthenics and fooling around on an exercise ball, because it’s fun), barre practice, or riding-of-the-bike.

Today we launched a raft of piqué turns. There were only four of us, so the rate of collision remained low … mostly.

Line graph of a bunch of beginners doing pique turns.

Figure 1. Line graph of one ballet class’s progress across the floor. (“NO” is for “PiaNO.” As for “DANGER?” Seriously, Denis and I nearly collided in that one spot like three times.)

If I were making my usual bulleted lists of strengths and weaknesses, the pique turns would be on both. When I put my brain on hold and went with the flow, it was All Good(or well, kinda good, anyway). When I started thinking, I did crazy stuff with my arms, failed to keep my shoulders square, and sort of fumbled my way into and out of turns.

Denis and I also nearly collided in exactly the same spot every time we were heading to the right, which was actually kind of funny.

I actually have no idea if our other two classmates were traveling on nice, straightish lines like I’ve depicted. It’s possible that they were zigging and zagging like a championship football team, just like I did from time to time. Meanwhile, Denis’ brain kept wanting to chainé instead of to piqueé.

A good time was had by all. It was a happy class, for all the crash potential. There was a great deal of smiling. Nobody fell down. Not that anyone has done, at this juncture, but we did lots of turns today, and sometimes people like to fall over when doing turns.

Tomorrow I hand in my data for my independent project and re-hand in the exam for P-342 that Dr. R extended on Thursday. Then I’ll be working on tweaking my project and writing it up as well as writing up my awesome research proposal.

It has just occurred to me that, with any luck, I will graduate this year. Finally. I feel like maybe I should buy one of those obnoxious t-shirts that say SENIORS!!! and CLASS OF THIS VERY CURRENT YEAR OMG! and so forth all over them … except, another part of me feels that’s a little too much like getting your sweetheart’s name tattooed on your person, which never ends well.

Okay, that’s it for now. I think we’ve earned a nice relaxing evening, and I’m going to go read in bed.

About asher

Me in a nutshell: Standard uptight ballet boy. Trapeze junkie. Half-baked choreographer. Budding researcher. Transit cyclist. Terrible homemaker. Getting along pretty well with bipolar disorder. Fabulous. Married to a very patient man. Bachelor of Science in Psychology (2015). Proto-foodie, but lazy about it. Cat owner ... or, should I say, cat own-ee? ... dog lover. Equestrian.

Posted on 2014/04/14, in balllet, class notes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

