On Ballet! – Monday Class Notes

Last night we had an insane adventure while transporting a 32-foot ladder after class, so I didn’t get my notes posted.  D’oh!

Anyway, it was an interesting class.   Three guys and two ladies this time, in a reversal of the usual pattern, and we got our petit allegro on.   I was about as graceful as a gator on rollerskates, at times, but you know.   We all have our off days (especially after days off).

As always, there were some strengths and some (many) weaknesses:

Strengths
Grand Battement:
I always think this looks pretty good, though.

Balance:
This is really improving.

Arabesques:
These felt good.

Weaknesses
Strength:
For some reason, I was a bit on the weakish side last night.   While my arabesques held together, I really felt my effort.   Likewise, I experienced trembling thigh muscles at a few points.

Arms:
Seriously, arms, we’ve talked about this.   (To be fair, they are improving.  They were just a wee bit, um,  enthusiastic: like, repeat to yourself, this is not modern dance ).

Ooh! I know! I know! Pick me! Pick me! TEEEEEEACHER!

“You do, ‘FOSSE! FOSSE! FOSSE! … but you keep it all inside.”
Also, I was a ballet ninja yesterday, because I got locked out of the changing room and didn’t have time to change my socks.

Oh, FFS, the combination:
While we were learning the combo for our petit allegro, I started too far over and ran into the window, so then I had to try to remember it without having properly marked it in the first place.  I was fine up to the point where I ran out of room, but couldn’t remember the rest to save my life.

I am perpetually afraid of being that moron in class who takes forever to get the choreography straight anyway (I would love to see more about this study from Duke University in 2010), so this did not help my confidence.  I hid on the back line doing the watch-n-pray the whole time.

At one point our teacher told us (me?) to stop thinking.   I suspect that would help.  Thinking only gets me in trouble.

As always,  got some useful corrections (including the universal “stop being lazy and point that toe” tap while we were stretching at the barre).  I felt almost ridiculously flexible.  I didn’t want to stop when we were done, but I never do.  

I want to stop when I fall down.

I guess that’s a good sign ^-^

About asher

Me in a nutshell: Standard uptight ballet boy. Trapeze junkie. Half-baked choreographer. Budding researcher. Transit cyclist. Terrible homemaker. Getting along pretty well with bipolar disorder. Fabulous. Married to a very patient man. Bachelor of Science in Psychology (2015). Proto-foodie, but lazy about it. Cat owner ... or, should I say, cat own-ee? ... dog lover. Equestrian.

Posted on 2014/04/08, in balllet and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

