Sometimes I Mystify My Husband

Yesterday I went to the grocery store. While I was busy doing so, Denis took a side trip to K-Mart.

When we regrouped, he discovered that I had purchased a bag of frozen scrambled egg patties and looked at me as if I’d grown another head.

What surprised Denis was learning that I didn’t realize that I could very easily make eggs ahead and freeze them myself. Huh. Go figure. You just put a bunch of eggs in a muffin-top pan and bake them. The nice part is that you can use local eggs and you get to control what goes into the patties (which, in my case, will be eggs and … well, eggs).

Anyway, I’m now in the midst of researching the best ways to create make-and-freeze breakfast sandwiches, since I am evidently summarily incapable of getting my act any more together than it already is in the mornings (briefly summarized: I like to get up and head out the door in 30 minutes or less; if I take longer, I dawdle, get disorganized, and make myself late). This means that I frequently run into breakfast-related logistical issues (which, admittedly, are sometimes solved by Carnation Breakfast Essentials, but I’m trying to eat real food in the mornings now).

For a while, I compensated by buying our extremely-cheap breakfast stuff at school, but apparently other people have discovered breakfast, so now it takes too long. The frozen patties mean I can nuke a couple of eggs and whip up a sandwich in about a minute and a half, which is great, but apparently it’s really easy to make entire English muffin sandwiches and freeze them, and then you just nuke the whole thing. Sounds like a good deal.

In other, more topical, news, today was a better day on the bike. A guy I’ve ridden with a few times here or there caught me on my homebound commute and we spanked along at 20 MPH or so for a few blocks until he had to turn off. He’s one of those super-fast junior racer types, so that was cool.

The momentary effort reminded me that the way to regain speed, when you’re recovering from an illness or whatever, is to go fast. This isn’t rocket science, and yet sometimes I forget anyway.

Anyway, this is the first evening I’ve been home alone in quite a while, so I’m going to go see if I can beat the kitchen into submission before Denis returns from helping his brother get a new business launched.

If I’m not back in three weeks, send a search party … and, of course, keep the rubber side down.

About asher

Me in a nutshell: Standard uptight ballet boy. Trapeze junkie. Half-baked choreographer. Budding researcher. Transit cyclist. Terrible homemaker. Getting along pretty well with bipolar disorder. Fabulous. Married to a very patient man. Bachelor of Science in Psychology (2015). Proto-foodie, but lazy about it. Cat owner ... or, should I say, cat own-ee? ... dog lover. Equestrian.

Posted on 2013/10/14, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

