New Shoes

Today I rolled out 28.2 miles, bringing this week’s total to 53.6.

From home, I took an easy spin up to Bicycle Sport, where I bought some brake pads and tried to buy some stem bolts (they didn’t have the right size, either). On the way there, I found myself thinking, “Wow, I used to think this was a hill,” a couple of times. It’s funny how that happens.

Because it was nearby, I ate lunch at Burger King. As I contemplatively munched my Whopper Jr., I heard a voice from behind me say: “So I’m not the only one stupid enough to ride a bike to eat at Burger King!” It turned out to be another roadie type. I’m happy to report that neither of us met with a humiliating end on the smooth tile floor, despite the best efforts of our cleats. We did sound like a pair of clog dancers, of course.

From there, I rolled back towards home, avoiding any real climbs. The idea today was to just take it easy. Even though my speed maxed out at 31.5 MPH and averaged 14.1, it still felt like a fairly easy ride.

My HRM data would, at some points, suggest otherwise; I’m wondering if I did something weird to it that made the readings come out a bit high. We shall see. Certainly, my rate of perceived exertion was quite low (like, “whistlin’ Dixie” low) throughout, with two or three minor exceptions (moments when I was muscling up a small climb even though I shouldn’t have been).

Tomorrow is Boston-Munfordville-Boston, and I’m looking forward to the adventure. I’ll be rolling with Timothy, who is test-riding a recumbent trike this week.

Anyway, new brake pads are installed in front (haven’t done the rear yet, as they were in passable shape and I wanted to come back inside); the rear fender — I rarely use the front one on the Fearsome Fuji due to its tight clearances — is mounted; things are packed, and everything is generally ready to go.

I’ll try to actually put together a decent ride report, though it probably won’t be up ’til Friday.

About asher

Me in a nutshell: Standard uptight ballet boy. Trapeze junkie. Half-baked choreographer. Budding researcher. Transit cyclist. Terrible homemaker. Getting along pretty well with bipolar disorder. Fabulous. Married to a very patient man. Bachelor of Science in Psychology (2015). Proto-foodie, but lazy about it. Cat owner ... or, should I say, cat own-ee? ... dog lover. Equestrian.

Posted on 2013/07/03, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

